Am I getting older?

Daily Prompt.

Please be sure to check out my other posts here.

New Wrinkles

You wake up one day and realize you’re ten years older than you were the previous night. Beyond the initial shock, how does this development change your life plans?

I think I’d be too concerned with how, or why this is happening. I’m not going to be the person who looks in the mirror, to say, “Hey, I’m getting older, I should go sky diving before I die!”

But, only ten years?  I wouldn’t have a single wrinkle or gray hair on my face.  However, once I did notice I was older, I would likely want to figure out why it’s happening and if it’s still happening.

My phone began it’s wake-up chime at 8:00am.  Resisting the urge to throw it across the room, I struggled, tapping at the screen to cease the annoying jingle.

Standing from the bed, an intense amount of pressure built up around my ankle joints.  It pained greatly just to walk.

“Why is this happening again?!” I thought to myself.

Why did I feel so much older, all of a sudden?  But it wasn’t quite like the last time.  My back and fingers were hurting too.

I couldn’t manage to make it the full distance of my room.  My feet just gave out and my knees collided against the floor, before laying completely flat.

It was there, I looked to my left at the only mirror in the room.  Something was different.  But, I’d just woken up, so my vision wasn’t very much sharp at all.

After a raged struggle with my body, crawling through the floor, I’d somehow managed to get to the bathroom, and used the sink as a platform to pull myself up.  More angry with the pain pinching at my joints than anything else.  Was I getting older?  I looked again in the mirror, trying to convince myself that I was okay, except I noticed something.  A single gray hair.

“What?  How?”

Something wasn’t right.  I’m only twenty-four, so there wasn’t a reason for me to have a gray hair, right?   I walked slowly, bracing myself for the pain of each wide step as I waddled back to my bedroom, thinking of what to do next, I didn’t feel good, remembering I had a long scribble of things left to finish on my bucket list.

The whole situation was putting a lot of stress on my brain. It reminded me of a particular subject of a blog, I’d been tossing about in my head.

Stories have climaxes in them.  I thought to myself if life itself were also supposed to have some sort climax.  But, my problem was that that nothing overly exciting in life had ever happened to me.  At least nothing so exciting that I would consider it the best possible thing to happen in my life, and here I was, getting older.

It was time to get finished with that list.

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: New Wrinkles | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  2. Pingback: Wrinkles | It's Mayur Remember?

Leave a Reply

