Wow, you’re stupid.

For more daily prompts, click here.  For everything else, click here.

The Eighth Sin

Remember the seven cardinal sins? You’re given the serious task of adding a new one to the list — another trait or behavior you find particularly unacceptable, for whatever reason. What’s sin #8 for you? Why?

Have you ever spoken to someone that instantly ends up on another topic?  “Wow, I don’t even know what you’re talking about anymore!”

There’s been a few times where I wonder what is wrong with some people.  “Dude, I was talking to you about global warming, how are you talking about sun roofs in cars?…  They both have the sun in common, right?”

You ever go for a walk, and there’s that one person you don’t feel like talking to, that just so happens to show up, from no where?  I was doing just that, and it happened.

“Hey, what’s up?” he greeted.

“Yeah, what’s up,” I casually greeted back, as I slowed my walk speed.  The notion that I was in no mood for conversation with this particular fellow completely masked under what I assume was kindness.  Maybe I was expecting a redemption of the last conversation.

“Did you get that thing, yet?” he asked suddenly.

“Thing?”

“Yeah, you know?  That thing we were talking about last time, that you were telling me about, that’s supposed to make your internet go really fast?”

“What?  You mean a router?”

“Yeah! Doesn’t it like, make your internet download movies at like… five-hundred megabytes a second?”

“Dude, that’s not-” I felt trying to explain the difference between megabytes per second, and megabits per second would be futile and stopped myself mid-sentence. “Never mind.  But no, the router doesn’t make your internet go any faster.  I only use that for wireless connectivity and I already have one.”

“Oh,” he replied back.  Dull and with no emotion was too hard to tell what was going through his mind at this point.

“It’s all only going to be as fast as the lowest link anyway,” I added.

“Lowest link?”

“Yeah,” I said.

“Well, I have this one computer that’s like — it runs really slow, but the rest of the computers, like the one in my room, it goes faster.”

“Didn’t you tell me that computer was almost ten years old?”

“Well, yeah, but — it’s slow and my other computer is fast.  It’s like, the rapid station.”

“What?”  At this point, the conversation was taking a turn for the worse, and I knew it.

“Yeah, so like… when you ride on the trains there’s like — okay, so I got my ticket, right?  And, after I got my ticket, I waited for the train for fifteen minutes and when I took my seat, it looked like it was going fast, but when you look at it from the outside, the outside seems to be moving slowly.”

So many questions popped into my head during his response, that I didn’t know how exactly to respond.

“How long was the ride?” I asked.  My white flag had been raised, the conversation was a loss.  But it was okay, as we weren’t far from the store.

“Well, it was about a half hour to forty-five minutes.” he replied before going into a long pause.

“Did you-”

“But,” he finally continued, cutting me mid-sentence. “While I waited there and I saw all these people there, I wondered what all those people were doing there.”

“What was the problem?”

“You know how like, around Christmas time, everything gets crowded and there’s all sorts of people everywhere, because they have somewhere to go?”

“Yeah?”

“Yeah, well, it was kinda like that.  There were all these people around, but it wasn’t a holiday, so I wondered what all these people were doing there,” he said, emphasizing on people for some odd reason.

“Was it last Monday?”

“Yeah.”

“So, it was Memorial Day.”

“Oh.”

I’d never been happier to get in front of a grocery store, my only hope was that he was going somewhere else.  My nerves were seriously in need of rest.

“Well, I’ve got a few things to get in the store, so I should head in and get them.”

“Okay, see you around.”

I never did find out what was so wrong about the rapid station being crowded on a holiday.

 

Thanks for reading.  Story is loosely based on someone I know, but it is like the other stories I write, completely fictional.  If you enjoyed it, please be sure to rate, comment, follow and all that good stuff.

15 Comments

  1. Pingback: Too Late – A Flash Fiction Slice of Life Story | Avalon Reviews + Flash

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Eighth Sin | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  3. Pingback: An Eighth Sin? Pffff Whatever | Keyboard Pizza

  4. Pingback: I’m Back! | shivansh chaudhary

  5. Pingback: Eighth Sin Responses | 99 Problems And Done

  6. Pingback: The 8th Deadly Sin: Story Spoiling | TyroCharm

  7. Sin number 8: Caveman Blogging…+*&^!!?”{}}::””@bah!*/>err>< (did you get that?!).

    300 words when combined form a sentence…hoping your imagination is better than your algebra what is (jerk)-kindness=X, and the "dude" in your post is fictional, you really did not get so annoyed by a conversation, i mean it was small talk and you turned it into a typical 2014 blogging just to blog that takes on the same ole feeling (I am the best blogger and here's my blog)! 5000 words about dog walking really.. really? Get over your self and blog about how little things. Like, how popper scopes' give dog owners their dignity back… they no longer have to leave shit piles everywhere.!.. out in the open just sitting there.

    Another dip in the honey!
    Dippadedoda a Bee's Knee's

    Like

Leave a Reply

