Where’d The “Happy” Go?

 

Daily Prompt

As a kid, you must have imagined what it was like to be an adult. Now that you’re a grownup (or becoming one), how far off was your idea of adult life?

As a kid, around the age early age of five, I distinctly remember  thinking, (probably because I said it once) you only needed $100 dollars to be rich.

Needless to say why.  One hundred, to me back then was just completely unimaginable.

But, we know today, banks create money whenever they feel, thus, depreciating the value of the dollar.  How great would it be if one hundred dollars actually had the same power as a million today.  But, I’ve read articles stating that not even a million dollars is enough to be rich.  Perhaps it depends on how much self control you have, and how old you are when you get the million.

People that win lotteries don’t stay rich either.

Anyway — back to to the subject, I can’t remember much else in terms of how I thought things would be as an adult, while being a child.  I just remember getting whatever I wanted almost all the time and being a kid.  I am curious, though.  What happened between being a kid and now.  One thing I’ve noticed is that I’m smiling a lot less.

But I do still smile, don’t get that wrong. 🙂

Maybe that’s it, outside of the usual, that we already know about.  Everyone’s just… a lot less happy, surely we all thought that getting to have whatever we wanted while also making all the rules would result in more happiness.  Why not fix it?  I’m going to work on that starting today.

Tried to change it up a little, as we’re all writing about the same subject and we were all naive at some point as kids.  We could ask kids today how they think thinks are, and most will say the same things we thought.  And, to the ones that have an idea of what it’s really like…  Well, I hope they’re enjoying themselves and thinking about how to make change for the better.

Please remember to like, favorite, comment, and such.  And check out my other blog posts too, I’d appreciate it.

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Adult Visions | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

Leave a Reply

